It’s Done

I did it. I published 27 Yards… And in this moment, I feel a weight lifted from my chest that is so liberating that I am truly elated. Any creative being knows how one can become obsessive over the futile pursuit of perfection in their work; failing to realize that we humans are inherently flawed, and therefore the same goes for whatever is wrought from our hands.


Having said that, I suppose the point then is to mitigate such glaring imperfections, but not to obsess over them ad nausea. I’ve come to such reconciliation, thanks in part to watching one of the most anticipated movies of the summer season. Now, don’t get me wrong, I thought it was amazing, and could do no wrong! That is, of course, when I was looking at it through my “consumer” eyes. However, I have a tendency to examine creative pieces critically; not in an attempt to facetiously disassemble it, but to study their formula. Along the way, you can’t help but to happen upon factors such as inconsistencies, plot holes, and anchorisims that I’m sure the creative team has gnawed their nails over.


The story is as edited, as fleshed out, as enthralling as it is ever going to be. And if I allowed my mind to constantly question every period, crossed T, and dotted I whilst in a perpetual idle state for no good reason at all, it will never see the light of day. But, again, that fortunately won’t be the case. Even when it was in a draft status, beta readers loved it. One couldn’t ask for anything more. So, here it is for the world to scrutinize. I’m sure there’s going to be critical eyes that’ll point out even the things I’ve missed, and that’s fine.

Plus, there’s always revisions…

Leave a Reply

